Current issue

ICON 191

 

Inside Icon 198: Burning Man, Craft and the Art of Making

 

The art of making: this issue explores our obsession with craft and asks why we cling to the tangible in a post-material age. Icon's editor Priya Khanchandani delves into reality TV's unlikely love of the handmade and talks to the winner of Netflix’s competitive glass-blowing series Blown Away. Eddie Blake finds God in the most unlikely places, from warehouses to bingo halls. And we also look at the spectacular installations that rose from the desert sand at this year's Burning Man. Plus: Es Devlin on biennales in a wasteful world, architect Jean-Philippe Vassal, of Lacaton & Vassal, on repair over replacement and an exploration of the Stirling-nominated Cork House. Read on...
 

Subscribe to the print magazine today and never miss an issue

Download the FREE Icon app. Available on the App Store, Google Play and Amazon Fire

Get in touch with our marketing team for more information about accessing the Icon digital archive.

About Icon

Icon is one of the world’s leading architecture and design magazines. Every month we interview the most exciting architects and designers in the world, visit the best new buildings, analyse the most interesting new cultural movements and technologies, and review an eclectic range of exhibitions, books, products and films. Beautifully presented and accessible, rigorous and insightful, Icon shows you exactly what’s happening in architecture and design today, and what it means for the future. 

 

Contact us

Editorial

Priya Khanchandani, editor
priya.khanchandani@icon-magazine.co.uk

Peter Smisek, associate editor
peter.smisek@icon-magazine.co.uk

Robin Farley, art director
robin.farley@icon-magazine.co.uk

Siobhan Morrin, content and audience development editor
siobhan.morrin@m10group.co.uk

 

General

Justin Levett, divisional director
justin.levett@m10group.co.uk

Daren Newton, founding publishing director
daren.newton@m10group.co.uk

Advertising

Davide Moretto, sales manager
davide.moretto@m10group.co.uk

Marketing 

David Robinson, senior marketing executive
david.robinson@m10group.co.uk

Subscriptions

icon@subscription.co.uk

+44 (0) 1858438428

Digital subscriptions

If you have a digital subscription and would like help or have a query please contact us on help@pocketmags.com

Advertise

For global brand awareness, Icon is the answer: sold in over 40 countries, the multi-award- winning magazine is widely admired for its provocative attitude, its writing and its taste. It is read by design professionals who are after the latest news and exclusive interviews, but also by a general readership with an interest in architecture, design, fashion, graphics or technology. Our readers need us to help them make sense of the present so they can get on with creating the future. To find out more, please contact Davide Moretto on davide.moretto@m10group.co.uk.

 

 

%MCEPASTEBIN%