Icon Awards 2014: shortlist revealed 22.10.14

Written by 

awards 3 new

The judges have announced the nominees for this year's awards

Icon is pleased to reveal the nominees for the 2014 Icon Awards.

During a session at the BT Tower in London's West End earlier this month, the judges shortlisted five people, projects, products or practices in each of ten categories. The shortlist includes globally renowned architects and designers as well as up-and-coming practices and technical and social innovators.

The winners – and the 2014 Icon of the Year – will be announced at a ceremony on 4 December at St Mary's Church in Marylebone, London. The winners will all receive trophies designed by Anton Alvarezmade using his thread-wrapping machine.

The full list of nominees is listed below. For more details and to buy tickets to attend the awards party, visit the Icon Awards website, iconmagazineawards.com.


Building of the Year

Aspen Art Museum, Colorado, by Shigeru Ban Architects
Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør, by Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG)
FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais, Dunkirk, by Lacaton & Vassal
LSE Student Centre, London, by O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects
Museo Jumex, Mexico City, by David Chipperfield Architects

Architecture Practice of the Year

Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG)
David Adjaye Associates
Haworth Tompkins Architects
Herzog & de Meuron

Design Studio of the Year

Barber Osgerby
Martino Gamper
Morag Myerscough
Studio Rygalik

Emerging Architecture Practice of the Year

Frida Escobedo
We Made That
WISE Architecture

Emerging Design Studio of the Year

Kieren Jones
Nelly Ben Hayoun
Studio PSK
Study O Portable
Thorunn Arnadottir

Furniture Design of the Year

Bodleian Library Chair by Barber Osgerby
Keystones by Minale-Maeda
Table and chairs by Office KGDVS
Tubo by Industrial Facility

Product Design of the Year

Bloom safety helmet by Toyo Safety
Bradley Timepiece by Eone
Chair 4 Life by Renfrew Group
Fortis Exoskeleton by Lockheed Martin
Mars Orbiter by Indian Space Research Organisation

Interior of the Year

Bonhôte townhouse, London, by AOC
Markthal, Rotterdam, by MVRDV
Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, London, by Allies and Morrison
Tate Britain, London, by Caruso St John
Victoria Beckham store, London, by Farshid Moussavi

Socially Responsible Design of the Year

ABC syringe by David Swann
Clocksense by Frugal Digital
Natalie Collection by Laerdal Global Health
Portable Eye Examination Kit (PEEK) by Peek Vision
SoftWheel by SoftWheel Ltd.

Technology of the Year

Aakash UbiSlate 7Ci tablet by Datawind
Blackphone by Silent Circle
Citymapper app
Google contact lenses
UltraRope by Kone




quotes story

The winners – as well as the 2014 Icon of the Year – will be announced at a ceremony on 4 December at St Mary's Church in Marylebone

Leave a comment

Click to show