Mies van der Rohe prize shortlist 07.05.15

Written by 
  • Philarmonic Hall Szczecin, Poland, by Barozzi Veiga, which features on the cover of our latest issue, Poland

  • Antinori Winery, Florence, Italy, by Archea Associati: Surrounded by the vineyard-covered hills of Chianti, this building was designed to merge with its landscape to emphasis the close relationship that the wine industry has with nature

  • Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør, Denmark, by BIG: Bjarke Ingels’ 5,000sq m subterranean museum in Denmark is the culmination of a 15-year vision and a masterplan to restore Helsingør’s old shipbuilding harbour

  • LSE student centre, London, UK, by O’Donnell + Tuomey: Winner of this year’s RIBA Gold Medal, Irish architects O’Donnell + Tuomey designed this red-brick building on a narrow site in the heart of London to fit with its surroundings

  • Ravensburg Art Museum, Germany, by Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei: This art museum is located in a historically significant part of town. The German practice used recycled brickwork to create a connection between the old buildings and the new structure

The winnner of €60,000 award for European architecture will be announced tomorrow at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. Here are the five practices and projects in the running – including the Szezecin Philharmonic, which is featured on the cover of our current issue, Poland

Barozzi Veiga's Philarmonic Hall Szczecin in Poland – which features on the cover of our current issue, Poland – is in the running for the Mies van der Rohe prize for European contemporary architecture, the winner of which will be announced tomorrow (8 May).

Bjarke Ingels' Danish Maritime Museum in Denmark, which featured in Icon's Museums issue, is another nominee. O'Donnell + Tuomey, who Icon interviewed at the press conference announcing the finalists, has been shortlisted for their Saw Swee Hock Student Centre at the London School of Economics.

The Ravensburg Art Museum in Germany by Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei and the Antinori Winery in Florence, Italy, by Archea Associati complete the shortlist. All five buildings are pictured above.

The winning building will be announced on 8 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona and its architect will receive a €60,000 prize. A runner-up will receive €20,000.

The nominated buildings were all completed within the past two years but were not limited by size, with entries ranging from private homes to large-scale infrastructure schemes. Nominations were made by independent bodies, such as the member associations of the Architects Council of Europe and other European national architects associations rather than by the practices themselves. Previous winners of the award include David Chipperfield, Zaha Hadid, OMA, Snohetta, Peter Zumthor and Norman Foster.

Who do you think should win? Tell us using the comment facility below



Debika Ray


Leave a comment

Click to show